Executive Board Candidates Forum

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version Share this

Hear the TLA Executive Board candidates' positions in their own words!

The first TLA Executive Board Candidates' Forum was held on February 14, 2012. The online program was moderated by TLA President Jeri Williams and Nominating Committee Chair Herman Totten. Each candidate provides a brief response to the question, How will your candidacy advance the work of TLA on behalf of Texas Libraries. The panel then takes questions from the audience. To view the recording of this forum, please click on the link below.


The 2012 candidates for TLA Executive Board positions are:

For President-Elect:    

  • Yvonne Chandler, Associate Professor, Department of Library and Information Sciences, University of North Texas (Denton)
  • Ling Hwey Jeng, Professor and Director, School of Library and Information Studies, Texas Women's University (Denton)

For Representative-at-Large (Academic):

  • Doug Ferrier, Library Director, Texas A&M International University (Laredo)
  • Edward (Eddy) Smith, Executive Director, Abilene Library Consortium

For Representative-at-Large (Public):

  • Rhoda Goldberg, Library Director, Harris County Public Library (Houston)
  • Sally Miculek, Children's Services Coordinator, Austin Public Library

For ALA Councilor (represents the TLA Chapter on the Council of the American Library Association) 

  • Walter Betts, Systems Librarian, Texas Christian University (Fort Worth)
  • Richard (Ric) Hasenyager, Director for Library Services, North East Independent School District (San Antonio)


Created on Feb 16, 2012 | Last updated February 21, 2012