Siddie Joe Johnson Award

Connect with
CRT Members

CRT page on Facebook   CRT Member Twitter account

Reading Lists

2x2 Logo

2x2 Reading List Committee

Little Mav

Related Library Groups

Association for Library Services to Children

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version Share this

Siddie Joe Johnson Award Committee

Chair      Troy Lawrence    San Antonio Public Library     2018


Member  Kathleen Grupe   Birdville ISD                        2018

Member  Jayce Senter       Fort Worth Christian School  2018

Siddie Joe Johnson Award

The Siddie Joe Johnson Award is presented to a public or school librarian to recognize outstanding achievement in children’s library service.

The SJJ Award was named in honor of Siddie Joe Johnson, who served as Children's Librarian and Coordinator of Children's Services for the Dallas Public Library for twenty-seven years. Ms. Johnson, a published poet and author, was the recipient of awards from the Poetry Society of Texas and the Texas Institute of Letters, as well as from the American Library Association for her work in children's library service.

Nominees are evaluated on the basis of outstanding or innovative programs, a sustained high level of performance, leadership ability, involvement in professional organizations, community involvement, and cooperation with parents and other libraries, especially outside their own system.

To qualify, applicants must:

  1. Be a Texas librarian
  2. Be a member of the Children’s Round Table
  3. Work with children from preschool to eighth grade, and who has been active within the last twelve months

To apply:
Information requested for nominations is limited to 5 pages, including letters of recommendation received from colleagues and employers as well as supporting data such as examples of work, news articles, publicity for exemplary programs, etc. to establish the merits of the candidate. When you complete the ONLINE FORM, you will be able to upload a doc, docx, or PDF with the compiled support for your nomination. The nomination form is also available as a doc.

The recipient will be honored at the Texas Bluebonnet Award Luncheon at TLA's Annual Conference on April 5, 2018. The deadline for submission is Thursday, February 15, 2018.

For more information, please contact Troy Lawrence at

Created on May 12, 2014 | Last updated January 08, 2018