District 8

The purpose of District VIII shall be to promote library service in Texas as well as in the District and to promote and support the programs of TLA by means of planned programs in the District.

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version Share this

Welcome to District 8!

We provide training, advocacy, and networking opportunities for members from twenty-eight counties in Southeast Texas and the Greater Houston area: Angelina, Austin, Brazoria, Chambers, Colorado, Fort Bend, Galveston, Hardin, Harris, Houston, Jasper, Jefferson, Liberty, Matagorda, Montgomery, Nacogdoches, Newton, Orange, Polk, Sabine, San Augustine, San Jacinto, Shelby, Trinity, Tyler, Walker, Waller, and Wharton. Our members include librarians, staff, students, trustees, vendors, and volunteers who represent academic libraries, public libraries, school libraries, and special libraries.

You're Invited! 2017 Fall Conference Planning Meeting

District 8 members and potential members are invited to attend our Fall Conference Planning Meeting on July 29th at 10 am at the HCPL Parker Williams Branch. If you are interested in helping to plan or volunteering for the upcoming District 8 conference, running for a District 8 officer position, or just getting to know more District 8 members, please join us! Do not hesitate to contact District 8 Chair, Kelsey Brett, with any questions.

Planning Meeting invitation graphic showing colorful donuts



Share Your Kudos!

Have some great news to share with your District 8 colleagues? Post it to the MyTLA District 8 Group! Share your personal successes and those of your library or institution. It's tough being a librarian right now - we need all the good news we can get!

Questions or Suggestions for District 8 Activities?

You can contact the District 8 Chair, Kelsey Brett, University of Houston, or Chair-Elect, John Harbaugh, Harris County Public Library System.

Copyright © 2005-2017 by the Texas Library Association

District 8 Webmaster

Created on Mar 31, 2010 | Last updated July 12, 2017