E-SMART Operating Procedures


Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version Share this

E-Smart Roundtable
Operating Procedures


The name of this organization shall be the Electronic Resources and Serials Management Round Table (E-SMART) of the Texas Library Association (TLA).

ARTICLE II: Objectives

The purpose of E-SMART shall be to promote and improve the management of electronic resources in Texas libraries through fostering the exchange of information among librarians, publishers, vendors, and others who affect and are affected by these resources.

ARTICLE III: Membership

Any member of TLA may select membership in E-SMART.

ARTICLE IV: Administration

Section 1.  Officers

  1. The officers of E-SMART shall be Chair, Vice-Chair/Chair-Elect, Secretary/Treasurer, Councilor and Alternate Councilor, and Immediate Past-Chair.  These officers shall constitute the Executive Committee, administering the business of the Roundtable when it is not in session.  The Executive Committee shall meet at Annual Assembly and Annual Conference of TLA.  Other meetings shall be held as deemed necessary by the Chair or by at least two (2) members of the Executive Committee.
  2. Terms of Office:
    1. The Chair, Vice-Chair/Chair-Elect, and Secretary/Treasurer shall serve a term of one year or until their successors are elected.  The Immediate Past-Chair shall serve one year following the term of office as Chair.
    2. The Councilor and Alternate Councilor shall serve a term of three years or until their successors are elected.
    3. Officers shall assume office immediately following the Annual Conference at which they are elected.
  3. Vacancies:
    1.  If there is a vacancy in the office of Chair, the Vice-Chair/Chair-Elect shall become Chair both for the remainder of that term and the succeeding term.
    2. If there is a vacancy in the office of Vice-Chair/Chair-Elect, Secretary/Treasurer, Councilor, Alternate Councilor, or Immediate Past-Chair, the Chair, with the approval of the Executive Committee, shall fill the vacancy by appointment until the next election. An Immediate Past-Chair vacancy on the Executive Committee must be filled by a former Chair. 
    3. If there is a vacancy in the office of Councilor, the Alternate Councilor shall complete the remainder of the term.
    4. If there is a vacancy in both the Chair and Vice-Chair/Chair-Elect positions, the President of TLA shall appoint a new Chair, who shall proceed as outlined above.
    5. If an officer misses three (3) consecutive meetings of the Executive Committee and/or Council, the position shall be declared vacant and filled as outlined above.

Section 2.  Duties

  1. The Chair shall:
    1. represent E-SMART at all levels except Council;
    2. preside at all E-SMART meetings;
    3. appoint committees and designate committee chairs with the exception of the Nominating Committee;
    4. coordinate the work of all committees;
    5. ensure that if a program is planned  the program is approved by the TLA Program Planning Committee, it is carried out and presented at the Annual Conference during their year as Chair;
    6. ensure preparation of the annual report to the Annual Conference;
    7. ensure development of a proposed budget for submission to the E-SMART membership and the TLA Budget Committee as stipulated in the TLA Bylaws;
    8. serve on the Executive Committee for one year following term of office;
    9. ensure that the election of new officers is conducted according to TLA procedures;
    10. ensure the currency of the E-SMART web page on the MyTLA website;
    11. submit proposed budget for E-SMART to the TLA office;
    12. perform all duties prescribed for this office in the Bylaws and Standing Rules of TLA.
  2. The Vice-Chair/Chair-Elect shall:
    1. serve on the Executive Committee;
    2. preside at meetings in the absence of the Chair;
    3. assume the office of Chair if that office should be vacated;
    4. assume the office of Chair after serving a term of one year as Vice-Chair/Chair-Elect ;
    5. perform such duties as assigned by the Chair.
  3. The Secretary/Treasurer shall:
    1. serve on the Executive Committee;
    2. record all minutes of the E-SMART meetings;
    3. present minutes of the previous E-SMART meeting for approval;
    4. submit a copy of the minutes of all meetings to the Chair, TLA Executive Board Liaison, and the TLA Office within one month of the meeting. Instant minutes must be submitted to TLA within 24 hours;
    5. maintain financial records of all income and expenditures of E-SMART and submit reports as required;
    6. present the annual financial report at the meeting of E-SMART at the TLA Annual Conference;
    7. perform such duties as assigned by the Chair.
  4. The Councilor shall:
    1. serve on the Executive Committee;
    2. attend all meetings of the TLA Council and E-SMART;
    3. submit all E-SMART resolutions to Council that require Council action.
  5. The Alternate Councilor shall:
    1. serve on the Executive Committee;
    2. assume the duties of the Councilor in the absence of the Councilor.

Section 3.  Nominations and Elections

  1. Nominations:
    1. The Executive Committee, with the exception of the Chair, shall appoint a Nominating Committee at Annual Assembly each year, or shortly thereafter.  The Chair of E-SMART may not serve on the Nominating Committee as ex officio or otherwise.
    2. The Nominating Committee shall:
      1. nominate qualified candidates for officers provided for in Article IV, section 1 of the Bylaws of E-SMART.  There shall be at least two (2) candidates for the office of Councilor;  
      2. secure the consent of the nominees in advance;
      3. follow TLA guidelines to allow electronic balloting and voting;
      4. assume all responsibilities for the conduct of the elections not otherwise provided for in the Bylaws.
  2. Elections:
    1. Elections shall be held annually either at the E-SMART business meeting during TLA Annual Conference or using  TLA’s electronic balloting process.  Results will be announced at the meeting of E-SMART during the TLA Annual Conference.
    2. For the office of Chair, Vice-Chair/Chair-Elect, and Secretary/Treasurer, the candidate receiving the highest number of votes shall be elected.
    3. For the office of Councilor, the candidate receiving the highest number of votes shall be elected Councilor and the candidate with the second highest number of votes shall be named Alternate Councilor.  The councilors shall be elected every third year.
    4. In case of a tie vote, names will be drawn at the regular business meeting during Annual Conference to determine the winner.

ARTICLE V: Meetings

A regular membership meeting of E-SMART shall be held annually in conjunction with the TLA Annual Conference.  A quorum shall consist of the E-SMART members who attend the meeting.  A program may also be held.

ARTICLE VI: Committees

Other committees may be created as needed by the Executive Committee or the Chair. The Chair shall appoint the members and designate the chair of each committee. The committees shall serve until their charges have been completed and reports have been accepted or until such time as the Executive Committee designates.

ARTICLE VII: Parliamentary Authority

The rules of procedure as stated in the current edition of Robert's Rules of Order Newly Revised shall govern this unit in all cases in which they are applicable and in which they are not inconsistent with the Bylaws and Standing Rules of TLA.

ARTICLE VIII: Amendments to the Operating Procedures

 Operating Procedures may be adopted or amended at any general membership meeting of the unit by a majority vote of the members present and voting, provided at least 30 days notice has been previously given and provided such changes are consistent with the Bylaws and Standing Rules of TLA.


Adopted April 17, 2012

Created on Mar 27, 2010 | Last updated July 16, 2018