Outstanding New Librarian Award

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version Share this

First awarded in 1976, the Outstanding New Librarian Award (ONLA) honors a librarian new to the field who is making outstanding contributions to their library and the profession. The nominee must be a member of TLA NMRT and must be employed full time as a professional librarian. Any person in the library profession who is familiar with the nominee's education, experience, and professional activities and affiliations may nominate them. A committee of NMRT members will consider all nominations. The Outstanding New Librarian Award includes a plaque, and either a 1-year paid TLA membership OR paid TLA Conference Registration.



2017 Not Awarded

2016 Not Awarded

2015 Not Awarded

2014  Not Awarded

2013   Kit Coates, Cedar Park Public Library  (pictured above in middle)

2012   Mandy Watson, Tomball ISD
  Christine Carter, Round Rock ISD
2010   Diane Michelle Ramsay, Chapel Hill ISD 
2009   Jamie Eustace, Sterling Municipal Library
2008   Lisa Martinez, El Paso Public Library
2007   Katy Herrick, Grand Prairie Public Library
2006   Lisa A. Ancelet, Texas State University
2005   No Winner
2004   Martha Andrade, El Paso Public Library
2003   Bobbi Jo Miller, Aldine ISD
2002   Lisa Hernandez, Valley View ISD
2001   Becky Anne Krugler, Galveston ISD
2000   Ann Minner, Austin Pubic Library
1999   Jill Cherie Sumpter, Branch Manager of Bob Lutts Fulshear/Simonton Branch
1998   Elizabeth Dupuis, University of Texas at Austin
1997   Pam Spooner, Sul Ross State University
1994   Suzanne Byron, University of North Texas
1993   Laurie Edwards
1992   Genie Hammel
1991   Richard Dickey
1990   Barbara B. Alexander
1989   Peggy Irene Bradley
1988   Tine Irene Hager
1987   Jeanette Larson
1986   Anita Frevert
1985   Rhonda Harris Taylor
1984   Beth Little
1983   Barbara Gubbin
1982   Cheryl Merchant
1980   Karen Cassity Taylor
1979   Katherine (Kippy) Jagoe
1978   Mary Rydesky
1977   Patricia H. Smith
1976   Marilyn Hinshaw


Created on Oct 15, 2010 | Last updated May 10, 2018