TLA TEXLINE NO. 247
Posted: May 4, 2009 • LEGISLATIVE ISSUES NETWORK


In this issue: URGENT CALL TO ACTION
LAST CHANCE FOR K-12 & TexShare Funding


The budget conference committee met today and accepted the following recommendations for the Texas State Library and Archives Commission: Loan Star Libraries - $3.5 million; Systems - $1.5 million; and Digital Talking Books - $275,000 (each item is for the biennium). We are very grateful to the conference committee members for their wonderful support of these library programs.

However, we need help with one more library initiative – Library Resource Sharing (which includes funding for TexShare and the K-12 databases). Funding for TexShare and the K-12 databases were NOT recommended.

URGENT CALL TO ACTION:

We urge everyone to contact all of the members below of the conference committee as soon as possible. We need overwhelming numbers of communications to these offices to convey the dire need to fund TexShare and the K-12 database so that we don’t lose any access in the next two years.

Please take five minutes to support the K-12 and TexShare databases.

The message:

Please appropriate at least $2.5 million for TexShare and the K-12 databases (Library Resource Sharing Services in the State Library’s budget in Article I). While both the House and Senate recommended funds in Article XI, these additional requests were not included as a final part of the State Library’s budget.

We ask that at least $2.5 million be allocated for library resource sharing to offset price increases in the K-12 and TexShare databases programs. Without this additional funding, students, communities, and institutions of higher education will lose access to existing resources. This funding is needed simply to keep up with escalating program costs.

Be sure to explain in a couple of sentences why these databases are so important to the people and students who rely on them.

Please email (individually) the members of the conference committee.

Senator Juan Hinojosa; (512)463-0120; juan.hinojosa@senate.state.tx.us
Senator Steve Ogden (co-hair); (512)463-0105; steve.ogden@senate.state.tx.us
Senator Royce West; (512)463-0123; royce.west@senate.state.tx.us
Senator Tommy Williams; (512)463-0104; tommy.williams@senate.state.tx.us
Representative Ruth McClendon; ph: 512-463-0708; ruth.mcclendon@house.state.tx.us
Representative John Otto, (512) 463-0570; john.otto@house.state.tx.us
Representative Jim Pitts (co-chair); ph: 512: 463-0516; jim.pitts@house.state.tx.us
Representative Richard Raymond; ph: 512-463-0558; richard.raymond@house.state.tx.us
Representative John Zerwas; ph; 512-463-0657; john.zerwas@house.state.tx.us